The good, the bad, and the ugly

I thought I would share a few “little” stories that have happened over the last few weeks and a “tiny” update tonight before I go to bed.  Over the last week we have sold our jewelry and some household items (including my iPhone).  We sold our wedding rings and Jeremy got a tattoo of my initials on his ring finger instead of wearing a ring.  I already had his initials on my ring finger from a few years ago.  We prayed about where to go and God lead us to this basement tattoo studio in the Old Port (Portland, ME) called ‘Till Death.  We thought it would be appropriate given the tattoo he was getting. We were greeted by Zach McDougall, a smiley tattoo-covered young man.  He was so sweet and gracious to us!  So, there we are, two wanna-be missionaries in a tattoo/ piercing studio – you can imagine how odd we must have looked!  We were able to sit with Zach as he designed Jeremy’s tattoo and then tattooed his finger.  We shared some of our lives with him and he shared a bit with us.  We were so blessed by our time with him and I think we were able to bless him too.

ZachMcDougall

 

I went back to Maine Gold and Silver in Portland today to sell some more jewelry and saw the lovely woman who helped us the first time, Anita – and we hugged a bit.  She is a strong believer who was very excited about our journey into the missions field.  After I was done there I headed to the TD Bank to open an account there for our cash deposits.  I pulled into the parking lot and waited for Jeremy to call.  As I sat there, I noticed a couple yelling in the car next to me.  They weren’t arguing but, just seemed upset about something.  A few minutes later, a young woman ran up to the car and grabbed a bunch of stuff out of the back seat.  She ran away yelling that she would see them later tonight.  I said a quick prayer that God would help them though whatever was going on and went into the bank.  I cashed the check I had from my jewelry sale and sat down to wait for the next available agent to open my account.  As I sat there waiting I noticed a woman sitting at one of the agents’ desks on the phone with what seemed to be another TD bank agent.  She was saying things like “are you really going to close my account?” and “I didn’t know the check was bad”.  At this moment I flashed back to when I was about 19 years old and felt what she was feeling.  There was a period of time where I was paying for gas in my car with nickles and dimes.  I began to pray for her and The Lord spoke to my heart that I had to give her a $100 bill from the $240 I just “earned”.  Of course, I responded “But Lord, don’t you know we are paying off our debt, and Jeremy is out of work, AND we need to pay for DTS tuition?!”.  At that moment my TB bank agent, Nik walked up and lead me to his desk to open an account.  I shared a little with him about our story and he shared with me, all the while, my hands and feet began to sweat.  I HAD to give this girl the $100 bill.  I sat patiently waiting for her to get off the phone and as I looked over I realized she was the young lady from the parking lot I had just prayed for!  When she hung up the phone, I excused myself from the conversation with Nik and made my way over to her.  I said “Excuse me, I was just praying for you and God told me to give you this” and put the $100 bill on the table in front of her.  She was quite shocked and very grateful.  I could smell the alcohol on her and immediately knew she was a homeless addict.  I told her that God has an amazing plan for her life and to get out of what she has been into.  I gave her my cell number in hopes that she will one day call for help or to tell me she is clean.  I quietly walked back over to Nik who asked “What did you do that for?” to which I replied “When God tells me to do something, I just do it.”

When I got home and checked my email, I heard from a friend’s daughter who just left an abusive relationship with her two children.  She has nothing and is starting over.  We have everything she would need to start over and are so blessed that we will be a part of blessing her in that way!

Soon after checking my email, Jeremy finished his application for the DTS Program through University of the Nations in Hawaii.  We decided to click submit and not five minutes later we got notice that we couldn’t stay where we have been living any longer.  Satan is real and he will do anything to keep people out of heaven. Period. So, we are believing that God has a place for us to live between now and April 1st and that He will miracle us the money for the DTS program.  We are so excited to see just how God is going to do all of this.

 

Psalm 3

Lord, how many are my foes!
How many rise up against me!
Many are saying of me,
“God will not deliver him.”

But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the Lord,
and he answers me from his holy mountain.

I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands
assail me on every side.

Arise, Lord!
Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
break the teeth of the wicked.

From the Lord comes deliverance.

May your blessing be on your people.

Leave a Reply

