FOOT

A few nights ago I woke up around three in the morning and the Lord spoke to me “Foot”.  Yep, that was all He said, “Foot”.  I knew He had literally given me “a word” and I avoided it as long as I could (kind of like our pile of laundry).  To be completely frank with everyone, this was not one of my best weeks.  One of those weeks when you don’t really want people to know you are a Christian cause you are pretty much stinking up His Name.  I am sure some of you can relate.  So this morning, I told my husband Jeremy that I had to write a post about “Foot” and I reluctantly quarantined myself in the bedroom.  Feeling a bit frustrated, I began to look up every passage with the word foot in it, there are 136 in my concordance.  My husband mentioned a verse in Leviticus and after most of the day, I decided to take his advice and check it out.  BINGO!  Leviticus 8:23-24

“Moses slaughtered the ram and took some of its blood and put it on the lobe of Aaron’s right ear, on the thumb of his right hand and on the big toe of his right foot.  Moses also brought Aaron’s sons forward and put some of the blood on the lobes of their right ears, on the thumbs of their right hands and on the big toes of their right feet. Then he splashed blood against the sides of the altar.”

Don’t leave just yet folks.  I agree that Leviticus is tedious reading but, this is really cool.  The context of this scripture is the ordination of Aaron and his sons to be priests.  We, as disciples of Christ, are a royal priesthood as Peter writes in his first book.  What is our ordination supposed to look like?  It can’t just be “Hey, I believe”, that wouldn’t really be fair considering everything the Jews had to go through just to get out of the bed in the morning!  God needed to answer some questions.  I was reading this passage and wondering, why the ear, the thumb and the big toe?  At first glance, it seemed really random to me but, knowing God I figured there was a reason.  I quickly went to my online New American Commentary which explained it quite nicely – the ear was a reminder to “harken” the voice of God; the thumb was a reminder to “execute” God’s commands; the big toe was a reminder to walk rightly and “holy”.  God is still the same God He was in Leviticus so, Christians must exhibit the same dedication now to harken His Voice, execute His commands, and walk a holy life on a daily basis as a sign that we are His.  “Harken” is not a word one sees often outside of scripture and I assumed it meant to listen to God’s Voice.  After some digging I found the Greek word hypakouo (hoop-ak-oo’-o) which means “to answer the call or obey”.  The Word of God gives many examples of this but one of my favorites is Hebrews 11:8-10 (I like The Message translation)

“By an act of faith, Abraham said yes to God’s call to travel to an unknown place that would become his home.  When he left he had no idea where he was going.  By an act of faith he lived in the country promised him, lived as a stranger camping in tents.  Isaac and Jacob did the same, living under the same promise.  Abraham did it by keeping his eye on an unseen city with real, eternal foundations – the City designed and built by God.”

 I read that and thought, “Phew!  I am good on that one!  I mean, we are selling everything to be missionaries!”  So, I moved onto the next point to “execute” His commands.  I found the Greek word for execute, diakonia (dee-ak-on-ee’-ah) meaning “of those who by the command of God proclaim and promote religion among men” (www.biblestudytools.com).  I sifted through many New Testament verses until I found 2 Timothy 4:5 (NASB)

“But you, be sober in all things, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry (diakonia)”

“Yes! Two down and one to go!  I am fulfilling my ministry by going into full-time missions!”  I am starting to get a little proud now because I am thinking I am in the green.  The final point to walk rightly and holy was the one I wanted to avoid reading about.  I do realize that I, being a Christian and particularly one that is writing a blog should be better at this holy living thing than I am.  I will put it out there, if I smashed my finger with a hammer, I might say a bad word or two.  I always figured holiness was something impossible to attain.  This is probably the reason why I have been rather unpleasant to my husband this week.  When my faith is tested, holiness is the first thing to go and my husband is the first person to experience it.  I whined because I had to make up a new family flyer, because I was tired, because my family was far away, and because I had to live by faith in our finances.  My heart wasn’t right.  Every day was a struggle, I lost my focus.  There are so many verses to choose from that speak of being holy but, Colossians 1:22 put it together for me:

“yet He has now reconciled you in His fleshly body through death, in order to present you before Him holy and blameless and beyond reproach – if indeed you continue in the faith firmly established and steadfast, and not moved away from the hope of the gospel that you have heard, which was proclaimed in all creation under heaven, and of which I, Paul, was made a minister.”

The New American Commentary explains it this way “God is best glorified among those who have cooperated with his working and whose lives reveal true Christian character.”  I have been made holy by Christ dying on the cross and cooperating with Him on this walk of faith.  I have been so uncooperative this week in my heart.  Begrudgingly answering emails, making phone calls, changing diapers, and even reading His Word.  I did all of the right things without a holy heart and I missed out.  I will tell you that I really missed out.  The Message translation of Colossians 1:22-23 says

“You yourselves are a case study of what he does.  At one time you all had your backs turned to God, thinking rebellious thoughts of him, giving him trouble every chance you got.  But now, by giving himself completely at the Cross, actually dying for you, Christ brought you over to God’s side and put your lives together, whole and holy in his presence.  You don’t walk away from a gift like that!  You stay grounded and steady in that bond of trust, constantly tuned in to the Message, careful not to be distracted or diverted.  There is no other Message – just this one.  Every creature under heaven gets this same Message.  I, Paul, am a messenger of this Message.”

I thank you Lord for your word “Foot” and that you used it to illuminate the cruddy heart I have had this week.  I pray that this post will make sense and will bless others. Amen

OK, now the fun part!!  First of all, within 24 hours of our need to have $1000 by the 4th, we received an email stating that someone is donating that exact amount!  All glory be to the Lord!!  Second order of business, we would love for you to tell us what you struggle with the most, harkening, executing, or living holy?  Please feel free to post here or send us a private message through email.  We want to support all of you through prayer!

Sarah

One thought on “FOOT

Leave a Reply

