A letter to my husband, on the eve of our 5th anniversary

Today I was sent to my room.  I am so grateful that I was but, I must admit it was a struggle initially.  Every once in a while, my husband can see that I am in a bit of a bind spiritually.  I am learning new things daily but sometimes I get all clogged up and I need a spiritual Roto-Rooter if you know what I mean.  I wasn’t being tormented by demons (sometimes in the form of PMS) or devastated emotionally.  Nothing like that.  God was just bringing something to the surface for me and Jeremy too.  Back in the fall I began a journey into submission to my husband (that is a completely different future post) thus, pushing Jeremy in his own journey of leadership in our home (another completely different future post).  This has completely shifted everything for us.  The changes have been amazing and all from God but, life has been flipped upside down and that has it’s own challenges.  So, this morning, Jeremy send me to my room to have sometime alone with my DADDY.  This is what God asked me to do:

What do I see when I look at my husband?

1. A Warrior gibbour: mighty, brave, strong

‘iysh (man): husband, champion, servant  milchamah (of war); battle, war

Psalm 127:4 “Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth.”

2. A  Leader – ‘ashar: to go straight, to set right, to advance

2 Timothy 3:14-17 But you must continue in the things which you have learned and been assured of, knowing from whom you have learned them, and that from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.  All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

3. A Lover – philagathos: lover of goodness

eirenopoios: lover of peace

shalowm: peace, welfare, completeness, safety, soundness

Titus 1: 7-10 “For a leader must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money, but hospitable, a lover of what is good, sober-minded, just, holy, self-controlled, holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught, that he may be able, by sound doctrine, both to exhort and convict those who contradict.”

Matthew 5:9 “Blessed are the peacemakers, For they shall be called sons of God.”

4. Wisdom – Chokmah: skill in war, shrewdness, prudence

Proverbs 18:4 “The words of a man’s mouth are deep waters; The wellspring of wisdom is a flowing brook.”

5.  Joy – Chara: gladness, joy in watching others grow

Galatians 5:22 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,”

Jeremy, when I look at you, I see the whole package.  I see how God has placed everything in your box of tools. I watch as you ask your Heavenly Father how to use each tool to His pleasure daily.  I couldn’t ask for a better leader and trust me, I know I am not easy to lead at times.  I am so excited to hear what God speaks to you next!  You have my respect.

Sarah

Ephesians 5:22-24 “Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife, as also Christ is head of the church; and He is the Savior of the body. Therefore, just as the church is subject to Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything”

Leave a Reply

