Be a Kid.

Since this past December, I have been meditating on the concept of adoption.  I have heard other’s preach on the spirit of adoption.  I understood in my head, that I was no longer a spiritual orphan but it didn’t really mean much in a practical sense.  God says in His word that He will provide for us, He sent His Helper, Holy Spirit to us and gave us the free gift of eternal life.  At the same time as praying over this particular concept, I was trying to understand why Christians are so bound up?  I don’t want to seem like I am judging anyone else more harshly than I judge myself.  I couldn’t understand why I was so bound by so many things and looked around to realize most of us are struggling with the same things.  Financial, emotional, mental, physical; we are kind-of a mess.  So, what’s up?  If the Bible says that Christ set us free (Galatians 5) then why are we still so broken?  I have heard many teachings about people allowing sickness into their homes because of unbelief and certain prayers to pray etc.  I personally disagree with all that mumbo-jumbo and would like to share what I have discovered.  Now, I realize that I am not an ordained pastor, heck; I don’t even have a college degree! I am willing to tell you what God has put into my heart.

Jeremy and I have five children and all of them are biologically our own.  We have discussed adoption many times and would be so blessed if God chose to grow our family.  If that time should come, the children we adopt will have the same rights and privileges our biological children have.  Think about that. Our daughter, Emilia has the same provision, comfort, love, and rights as our future children to come.  Would we take an adopted child and put them in a room all day, never allowed to use the rights of the house that would be child abuse.  Now, let’s look at what the Bible says about us.

Galatians 4:4-7 “But when the fullness of the time came, God sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under the Law, so that He might redeem those who were under the Law, that we might receive the adoption as sons.  Because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, ‘Abba! Father!’  Therefore you are no longer a slave, but a son; and if a son, then an heir through God.”

Scripture is clear that Christ died to give us adoption as sons and daughters.  Not clear enough?

Romans 8:16-17 “The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, heirs also, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him so that we may also be glorified with Him.”

Do you see it?  Um, yeah, Jesus is our brother and we are His adopted brothers and sisters.  So crazy right?!  That can’t be.  We are horrible sinners!  Dude, it says it right there in the Word of God.  We are co-heirs and we have been adopted by God.  We are Jesus’ siblings through His own sacrifice on the cross.  The idea that my Brother died for me is so overwhelming.

I have heard so many things over my lifetime being a church-girl: signs and miracles aren’t for today, demons can jump off of people and onto you when you pray for them, don’t step out in ministry because then the devil will get you… the list goes on.  Once I began to realize that I am a daughter of God with equal rights with my Brother Jesus, all of that just starts to sound silly.  I will give you examples from all 4 Gospels of Jesus reaching out and healing others:

Matthew 8:1-3 “When Jesus came down from the mountain, large crowds followed Him.  And a leper came to Him and bowed down before Him, and said, ‘Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.’ Jesus stretched our His hand and touched him, saying, ‘I am willing; be cleansed.’ And immediately his leprosy was cleansed.”

Mark 5:39-42 “And entering in, He said to them, ‘Why make a commotion and weep? The child has not died, but is asleep.’ They began laughing at Him .  But putting them all out, He took along the child’s father and mother and His own companions, and entered the room where the child was.  Taking the child by the hand, He said to her, ‘Talitha kum!’ (which translated means, ‘Little girl, I say to you, get up!’).  Immediately the girl got up and began to walk, for she was twelve years old.  And immediately they were completely astounded.”

Luke 4:40-41 “While the sun was setting, all those who had any who were sick with various diseases brought them to Him; and laying His hands on each one of them, He was healing them.  Demons also were coming out of many, shouting, ‘You are the Son of God!’ But rebuking them, He would not allow them to speak, because they knew Him to be the Christ.”

John 9:1-7 “As He passed by, He saw a man blind from birth. And His disciples asked Him, ‘Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he would be born blind?’ Jesus answered, ‘It was neither that this man sinned, nor his parents; but it was so that the works of God might be displayed in him. We must work the works of Him who sent Me as long as it is day; night is coming when no one can work. While I am in the world, I am the Light of the world.’ When He had said this, He spat on the ground, and made clay of the spittle, and applied the clay to his eyes, and said to him, ‘Go, wash in the pool of Siloam’ (which is translated, Sent). So he went away and washed, and came back seeing.”

Obviously, Jesus was not concerned with demons, curses or illnesses jumping off of these non-believers onto Himself.  Nothing held Jesus back from laying hands on the sick or diseased and healing them.  Why then, do we continue to live in fear?  Would a loving Father bestow gifts and power on one child and yet deny another because they are adopted?  So you have to make a choice: 1. The Bible is wrong about who God is and who you are or 2. The Bible is right and you aren’t claiming your inheritance.  Imagine the possibilities!  Your Brother Jesus healed every person He touched.  There is not a single account of Jesus praying over anyone, and those not walking away healed.  Even Lazarus, he was like super dead!  The scripture account in the King James Version states about Lazarus “He Stinketh!” because he was dead so long!  Jesus raised Lazarus from a place of major deadness, man.  We have that same inheritance as sons and daughters.  We sing in church on Sunday morning, “You’re a good good father, that’s who You are. I am loved by You, that’s who I am.” Then we walk out the doors and continue to live as though we haven’t been freed from a thing!  What is the point?  Jesus didn’t die just so we could try really hard not to sin for the rest of our life.  He died so we could look and act completely different from everyone else in the entire planet.

I want to also add this.  For most of my Christian life, I firmly believed that I needed some kind of position or education to qualify me to share the gospel.  I have come to learn that isn’t true.  It isn’t true for me and it isn’t true for you.  I have complete respect for my church leadership and our family submits to their authority over the church however, we don’t hesitate to step out in discipling people into a relationship with Christ.  Luke chapter 10 says that we have authority in Christ’s name “over all the power of the enemy” We are so blessed to have a wonderful pastor who shepherds our church but our authority does not come from him, it comes directly from the Lord.

Lastly, I want to be clear that your identity is not depression, anxiety, frustration, anger, self-hatred, lust, guilt, victim, sick, hurting, vulnerable, childish, selfish, bastard, jerk, bitch, crazy, analytical, broken, or sinner as long as you have accepted your place with Jesus right next to our Daddy God.  The truth is that if you have accepted Jesus as your Savior, you are a son or daughter of God and co-heir with Jesus.  You don’t have to wait until you get to heaven to gain your inheritance because Jesus died so you can have it in the here and now.  If you don’t know Jesus, pray and ask Him to be your savior.  Then go and find a church.  Tell them that you need a Bible and start reading it.  Have questions about what you are reading?  Ask your new pastor and maybe get into a Bible study.  Know this, you truly are a new creature and you are now God’s kid.  You have everything you need so just go on out and share the new love!  Leave that old person, that street-kid, that orphan behind and learn how to receive the love of your new Father.  I guess that is what it is all about: Being a kid of the King and receiving His love. Let’s face it, when you have received the greatest, biggest, most amazingly perfect love from our Father, you don’t worry about how to share it.  It just spills right out of you and onto others.  So, that’s it kids!

Leave a Reply

